She is a member of Aosdána and the Royal Hibernian Academy, a former member of the Arts Council (1993-1998), a founder member and first chairperson of the National Sculpture Factory in Cork, and the recipient of an Honorary Doctorate from University College Cork (2006) and of Cork Institute of Technology Alumni Award (2010). She is a member of the Board of the National Gallery of Ireland (2015-18).


  • 2015-2018 Board member National Gallery of Ireland
  • 2010 CIT Alumni Award
  • 2009 Business2arts, Public Commission Award
  • 2007 Business2arts, Judges Special Recognition Award
  • 2006 Conferred Honorary Doctor of Laws (UCC)
  • 2004 Elected Member, RHA
  • 1996 Elected Member of Aosdana
  • 1995 Associate Member, RHA
  • 1993-1998 Member Arts Council


(The Arts Council established Aosdana in 1981 to honour artists whose work has made an outstanding contribution to the arts in Ireland)